Thursday, March 21, 2013

Cabinet Decided To Control The Importing Of Ethanol

The Cabinet has decided to control the importing of Ethanol in to Sri Lanka with immediate effect according to Cabinet Spokesman ,Media Minister Keheliya Rambukwella.he has said during today's Cabinet Briefing that as one of the Sri Lanka's largest Sugar Manufacturing Company the Palawatte Sugar Industries Company commenced the manufacturing of Sugar and other by products government will be able to control the Ethanol necessity.

The Excise Authorities last week  have seized two container loads  of Ethanol at Thotalnga Area in Colombo worth Rs.40 million which imported from Vietnam as thinner.

US Sponsored Resolution Against Sri Lanka Was Passed In Geneva With Majority Of 12 Votes

The US Sponsored resolution against Sri Lanka submitted to United Nations Human Rights Council(UNHRC)  in Geneva ,Switzerland was passed by majority of 12 votes this evening as 25 member countries were voted in favor of the resolution while 13 members voted against it.another 8 member countries including Japan were abstained from voting.

Neighboring  India was voted in favor of the resolution while Pakistan along with few Arab Countries ,Venezuela and some African Nations voted against the resolution.the resolution encouraging the Sri Lankan Government to increase its dialogue and cooperation with the Office of the High Commissioner,wand noting the High Commissioner’s call for an independent and credible international investigation into alleged violations of international human rights law and international humanitarian law.

It also Calling upon the Government of Sri Lanka to fulfill its public commitments, including on the devolution of political authority, which is integral to reconciliation and the full enjoyment of human rights by all members of its population.the resolution includes six recommendations and co sponsored by the following countries.Austria, Canada, Croatia, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, St Kitts and Nevis, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.

All Island Curfew Schedule To Be Changed From Tomorrow(06)

Government has amended  the current curfew schedule implemented in the country daily from tomorrow (06)according to the President's ...