Monday, August 17, 2015

Former President Mahinda Rajapakshe And Pivithuru Hela Urumaya Leader Gammanpila Have Accepted The Election Defeat Of UPFA

Both the former president Mahinda Rajapakshe and UPFA (United Peoples Freedom Alliance) candidate Udaya Gammanpila have accepted the election defeat of UPFA according to the election results released so far.

The former president and election campaign leader of UPFA Mahinda Rajapakshe has told the french news agency AFP early this morning that he will accept the defeat of UPFA at the Parliamentary Election according to the election results declared  up to this morning." My dream of becoming the  Prime Minister has faded away .It was a tough fight we  carried out during the election campaign" the former President  has stated.

Meanwhile the UPFA candidate for the Colombo District and the leader of Pivithuru Hela Urumaya Udaya Gammanpila has said that although he has accepted the defeat of UPFA the struggle they launched during the election campaign will continue .

Although non of the major party able to secure majority seats in the Parliament  the United National Party (UNP) can form a minority government per the latest election results,UNP has won 11 districts and UPFA  9 districts according to the election results declared up to this morning.



Voting Of The Parliamentary Election Was Conducted In Peaceful Manner- President/ Elections Commissioner

Both the President Maithrpala Sirisene and Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya have admitted  today that the Sri Lankan Parliamentary Election which concluded this evening was conducted in peaceful manner and no major incidents have reported.

Voters have actively participated in casting
their votes at the election and in most of the areas the voter turnout stands more then 70% according to Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya.


Visit Official Web Site Of Elections Department For Latest Election Results

To view the latest Election Results of the Sri Lankan Parliamentary Election visit

UNP Won The Galle Polling Division -The First Official Election Result

The Governing United National Party has won the Galle District by majority of votes as the Elections Department has released  Galle District Election Result as the  first official Election Result .

Galle District 

United National Party(UNP)                                                                          33,798 (57.61%)

United Peoples Freedom Alliance(UPFA)                                                      19,613(33.43%)

Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna(JVP)                                                                  4,777 (8.14%)


United National Party (UNP) Received Majority Of Postal Votes In Trincomalee District

Governing United National Party(UNP) has received majority of  Postal Votes in Trincomalee District according to the second postal vote result issued by the  Elections Department .

Postal Vote Result Of Trincomalee District 

United National Party(UNP)                                                                   14,888 Votes (44.22%)

United Peoples Freedom Alliance(UPFA)                                               14,261 Votes (42.36%)

Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna(JVP)                                                              2,109 Votes(6.26%)

President Sirisene Has Sacked 13 Central Committee Members Of SLFP -Appointed 25 New Members

President Maithripala Sirisene has sacked 13 Central Committee Members of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party(SLFP) mostly the supporters of former President Mahinda Rajapakshe this evening in his  capacity as the SLFP Chairman .

President has already informed his decision of sacking 13 central committee members attached to   the SLFP to Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya.

Former UPFA MP'S Keheliya Rambukwella,Professor G.L Pieris,Johnston Fernando,Susil Premjayantha ,Anura Priyadarshana Yapa ,Arjuna Ranathunga,Dr.Rajitha Senaratne and western provincial Councilor Hirunika Premachandre are among st the central committee members  who have been sacked by the president.

After sacking of these members President has elected 25 new members to the Central Committee of SLFP according to the reports.

UPFA Has Received Majority Of Postal Votes In Ratnapura District

The main opposition party United Peoples Freedom Alliance(UPFA) has received  the majority of postal votes in  Ratnapura District as the Postal Vote result of the district has been announced short while ago as  first election result of the Sri Lankan Parliament Election held today(17).

The Postal Vote Result Of Ratnapura District

United Peoples Freedom Alliance(UPFA)                                              11,367 Votes (49.46%)

United National Party(UNP)                                                                     9,673 Votes  (42.09%)

Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP)                                                         1808 Votes (7.87%)


Italian Boy Escapes Brown Bear