Thursday, January 8, 2015

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksha Accepted His Defeat And Left From The Official Residence

The former President Mahinda Rajapaksha has accepted his defeat in the Presidential Elections and left from his official residence Temple Trees early this morning it has been reported.The former President who was received around 47% of the votes so far declared, had left the official residence after a brief discussion held with the Opposition Leader Ranil Wikramsinha .

Former President has congratulated the New President Elect Maithripala Sirisena through the phone before he left and paved the way for smooth transition of power.

Common Opposition Candidate Maithripala Sirisena Has Been Elected As The New Sri Lankan President

The Common Opposition Candidate representing the National Democratic Front (NDF) Maithripla Sirisena has received the majority of the votes castes in yesterday's Presidential Elections and elected as the new President of Sri Lanka .According to the results issued so far the Former Health Minister and the General Secretary of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party has been received more then 50% of the votes while the former President Mahinda Rajapaksha has been received around 47% of the votes.

Mr.Sirisena has became  the first Sri Lankan Executive President  elected from the North Central Province.

Voting Of The Seventh Presidential Election Has Been Concluded

The voting of  the seventh Presidential Election has been concluded at 4 p.m this evening and the counting has already began after the receiving of ballot boxes to the  1109 main  counting centers situated  in 44 areas island wide according to the Elections Secretariat .

The voting has been concluded in peaceful manner without reporting a major incident and in  many districts had a 70% to 75% voter turnout the secretariet ha announced.In  few  districts the voter turnout exceeds 80% after many years it has been reported.

According to the Elections Secretariat Voter Turnout of the Districts of Kandy(75%)
,Matale(75%),Galle(79%),Ratnapura(84%),Kegalle(70-75%),Nuwara Eliya(80%),Kalutara(70%),Matara(76%).

The  voters numbering 1,50,44,490 have been eligible to vote in this election where 19 candidates have been contested.The counting of postal votes are taking place in 303 centers island wide.


Thousamds Of Cinemas In China Under Threat Of Closure 52901143