Monday, January 12, 2015

His Holiness Pope Francis Has Arrived Sri Lanka

His holiness Pope Francis has began his six day tour to Asia from Sri Lanka today as he arrived Katunayake ,Bandaraniake International Air Port this morning.Pope Francis will be stayed in Sri Lanka till this Thursday(15) and he is due to attend a special mass at Galle Face Green on Tomorrow(14) morning and another special mass at Madhu Shrine.

A large crowd has seen in streets of Colombo to greet his holiness the Pope.This is the third time that a Pope visited Sri Lanka.

Pope Francis was greeted by Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena on his arrival today and Pope is due to meet the President again this evening at President's House in Colombo.


New Cabinet Has Sworn In

The new Cabinet Ministers of the newly formed  Government   numbering 27 Ministers have been sworn in before the  President Maitripala Sirisena this evening at the Presidential Secretariat.In addition  10 State Ministers and 8 Deputy Ministers were also sworn in before the President.

In the new Cabinet ,Prime Minister Ranil Wickramasinha has sworn in as the Minister of Policy Planning and Economic Development while Dr.Rajitha Senaratne ,Akila Viraj Kariyawasam and Ravi Karaunanayake have been sworn in as Ministers Of Health and Indigenous Medicine,Education and Finance respectively.

The list of Cabinet Ministers are as follows.

1.    Ranil Wickremesinghe- Policy Planning and Economic Development
2.    John Amaratunga – Public Security, Christian Religious Affairs and Disaster Management
3.    Gamini Jayawickrama Perera - Food Security
4.    Karu Jayasuriya –Public Administration, Democratic Rule and Buddha Sasana
5.    Rajitha Senaratne - Health and Indigenous Medicine
6.    Joseph Michael Perera - Home Affairs
7.    Mangala Samaraweera - Foreign Affairs
8.    Lakshman Kiriella- Plantation Industries
9.    Rauf Hakeem - Urban Development, Water Supply and Drainage
10.  Champika Ranawaka - Power and Energy
11.   Duminda Dissanayaka - Irrigation
12.   Mohamed Kabir Hasim - Highways and Investment Promotion
13.   M.K.D.S. Gunawardana - Lands  
14.   Sajith Premadasa - Housing and Samurdhi
15.   Gayantha Karunatilleke - Media
16.   Navin Dissanayaka - Tourism
17.   Ravi Karunanayake - Finance
18.   Wijedasa Rajapakshe - Justice
19.   Arjuna Ranatunga - Ports and Shipping
20.   D.M. Swaminathan - Resettlement, Reconstruction and Hindu Religious Affairs
21.   Thalatha Athukorala - Foreign Employment
22.   Ranjith Maddumabandara – Internal Transport
23.   P. Harrison - Social Services and Welfare
24.   Chandrani Bandara – Women’s Affairs
25.   Rishad Bathiudeen – Industry and Commerce
26.   Akila Viraj Kariyawasam – Education
27.   P. Digambaram – Estate Infrastructure Development

All Island Curfew Schedule To Be Changed From Tomorrow(06)

Government has amended  the current curfew schedule implemented in the country daily from tomorrow (06)according to the President's ...