Friday, August 21, 2015



UPFA And JVP Have Named Eight Defeated Candidates For Their National Lists

While the governing United National Party leadership has decided not to facilitate the  party's parliamentary candidates who got defeated  at the recently concluded election to getting elected to parliament through the national list both the United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) and the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna(JVP) Leaderships have paved the way for  eight of their defeated candidates  to getting  elected to Parliament through the national list.

All the three parties have announced their National List MP'S today and UPFA and JVP have included seven and one candidates respectively who  defeated at the election in their national lists.

Out of the 29 National List MP Posts 13 were allocated to UNP,12 for  UPFA and 02 each for JVP and TNA.


When I meet you again for the first time

You will be taller, I will be thinner
You will be happier, I won't be quite there yet
When I see you again for the first time
Our eyes will not recognize each other, but our arms will
Our hearts will sing a song of nostalgia
A song of times long ago
There will never be a more beautiful sound
Relief will fill my body, spill out my eyes
Until we meet again

Government Planning To Propose UNP Senior Leader Karu Jayasuriya For The Parliamentary Speaker's Post

The newly elected government is  planning  to propose the senior leader of  Governing United National Party(UPFA) Karu Jayasuriya for the post of Parliamentary Speaker.The speaker is due to be selected when the new Parliament convened it's first session next month.

However it has been reported that no final decision regarding proposing  the Senior Leader of UNP Jayasuriya for speaker's post has taken yet .

Karu Jayasuriya has not contested the recently concluded Parliamentary Election and he was appointed to the Parliament today through the National List of UNP.

UPFA Sacked Three Of It's Executive Members With Immediate Effect

The acting general secretary of the United Peoples Freedom Alliance(UPFA) Professor Vishwa Warnapala  has today (21)removed  elected MP'S Pavithra Wanniarachchi,S.M Chandrasene and Kumara Welgama  from the UPFA'S Executive Committee with immediate effect.All three of the removed UPFA exco members are also members of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party(SLFP) which is the main party attach to UPFA.

The reason behind the removal of these elected MP's not announced as yet.However it is widely believed that the reason for these removals is their opposition of forming a national government between Governing United National Party(UNP) and Sri Lanka Freedom Party(SLFP).The removed  members who are known as supporters of former president Mahinda Rajapakshe ,have strongly criticized the SLFP'S decision to join the national government during yesterday's Central Committee Meeting of SLFP .After they expressed their views esident Maithripala Sirisene has warned all SLFP Central Committee Members that anyone who are opposing the committee's decisions will be severely punished  .

Meanwhile the sacked UPFA Exco member Kumara Welagama has been removed form the SLFP Central Committee as well by the Party's acting secretary Duminda Dissanayake today.

The SLFP Central Committee has  yesterday decided to Join the National Government formed by UNP and appointed a six member committee headed by former president and SLFP Exco member Mrs.Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumarathunge to examine the possibilities of joining the national government.

Another 254 Sri Lankans Stranded In England Had Been Brought Back To Sri Lanka Today ?10)

A special Sri Lankan Airlines flight carrying 254 Sri Lankans stranded at England due to the Corona pandemic had touched down Katunayake...