Sunday, January 11, 2015

Sri Lanka Freedom Party Has Divided In To Two Factions Over The Party Leadership Issue

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party(SLFP) which both the current President Maithripala Sirisena and former President Mahinda Rajapaksha representing has divided today in to two factions over the issue of appointing the new president of the party .

During the General Assembly held this evening  more then 20 members out of the 42 member general assembly have decided to give the presidency to the current President Sirisena who was also the former secretary to the party while other members wanted former President Mahinda Rajapaksha to be appointed to the post.

Under the party constitution the if a member of the party has elected as the country's president he or she should automatically becomes the party president.If the candidate has loose the elections he or she will loose the party presidency also.

However a group of more than 20 SLFP members have announced that the current president sirisena has been elected as the new president of the party while the secretary of the SLFP Anura Priyadarshana Yapa has announced that the general assembly of the party has elected former president Rajapaksha as  president of the party.Sri Lanka Freedom Party was formed by former Sri Lankan Premier Late S.W.R.D Bandaranaike.

How Sri Lanka successfully curtailed the corona virus pandemic